Dr. Pamela Kumar

Dr. Pamela Kumar

Director General, TSDSI

Since February 2017, Ms. Pamela Kumar has been appointed as the Director General of TSDSI. An alumnus of PEC Chandigarh, Rutgers University and IIM Bangalore, Pamela brings with her an experience of 30+ years in the communications, computers and semiconductor industry.

TSDSI is involved in mobilising the Technical experts in the country to develop standards based on National Priorities & requirements and influencing Global Standards, particularly at ITU, 3GPP and other forums. Major contributions are being driven to incorporate India’s innovations to address Rural connectivity requirements for India and rest of the world. CCICI published a Framework & Roadmap for Cloud Computing Adoption in India and provided technical consultation on various aspects of the Cloud Computing Strategy for India. CCICI also formed the IoT for Smart Cities Task Force which published a series of reports related to Smart Cities Requirements Analysis, Smart Cities Reference Architecture, Smart Cities RFP Guidelines, Design & Planning of Smart Cities using IoT.

Prior to TSDSI, she spent the first 10 years of her career at AT&T, Bell Labs in USA and at C-DOT in Bangalore. Later, she held leadership positions in Texas Instruments, IBM, Hewlett Packard Enterprise, R&D labs in India. She also did a short stint with 2 startups, setting up the R&D centers of Network Programs and Alliance Semiconductors. She holds 3 Patents granted by USPTO and has 5 patent applications pending in the Networking Accelerators domain. She has been a Keynote/ invited speaker in 70+ Local and Global forums.

Pamela is also the Founding Chair and current President of Cloud Computing Innovation Council of India (CCICI). She is the Bharti Chair for IT Research at UIET, Panjab University. She also mentors a few Startups in the ICT space. She has been on the Governing Board of Indian Financial Technologies and Allied Services (IFTAS) and PEC University of Technology.

Pamela is Vice-Chair of 3GPP-PCG and a member of the IEEE-SA Nominations & Appointments Committee. She was the first-ever appointee from India in the IEEE Standards Association – Board of Governors, as the Member at large for 2011-12. She has held several other leadership roles as a senior member of IEEE – such as Chair of the IEEE Charles Steinmetz Awards Committee, General Chair of IEEE ANTS Conference, Coordinator for IEEE Region 10 Industry Relations, Chair for IEEE Computer Society Chapter & Vice-Chair of IEEE Bangalore section, etc.