Industry News : FCC Launches Advisory Committee, 6G Security Working Group in the US

FCC Launches Advisory Committee, 6G Security Working Group in the US

The building where the FCC is located in Washington, D.C. The body is looking into 6G

The Federal Communications Commission (FCC) announced it is kicking off the ninth Communications Security, Reliability, and Interoperability Council (CSRIC). The Committee includes a 6G working group.

The Council will have 50 members and is expected to provide recommendations as to ways “the FCC can strive for security, reliability, and interoperability of the nation’s communications systems.” It will focus on five main areas:

  • Security and reliability of communications systems and infrastructure;
  • 911, E911, and NG911 (emergency lines);
  • Emergency alerting;
  • Artificial Intelligence/Machine Learning; and
  • National security/emergency preparedness communications, including law enforcement access to communications.

The FCC also detailed three working groups, including one that will focus on 6G security:

  • Working Group 1: Harnessing Artificial Intelligence/Machine Learning to Ensure the Security, Reliability, and Integrity of the Nation’s Communications Networks
  • Working Group 2: Ensuring Consumer Access to 911 on All Available Networks as Technology Evolves
  • Working Group 3: Preparing for 6G Security and Reliability

The 6G working group will “examine and address security and reliability risks unique to emerging 6G networks and services.” The Council should develop a plan to build and deploy reliable and secure 6G networks and services that minimise privacy risks.

“6G networks are at least seven years from commercial deployment, but wireless technology moves at such a brisk pace that the FCC is compelled to seek early recommendations from stakeholders that will lead to more secure and reliable 6G networks and services,” the regulator said in an explanatory document.

“6G is expected to result in orders of magnitude improvements in network speed and latency, enabling capabilities that cause distinctions between the physical and cyber worlds to fade. CSRIC will make an early foray into examining and addressing potential security and reliability risks in emerging 6G networks and services,” the document detailed.

Call to Membership

Although the FCC has already established the Council’s 50 participants, it will open nominations for membership to the working groups. The regulator will seek applications from representatives of sectors of the communications industry, state and local government agencies and organisations, and representatives of consumers and community organisations.

Registrations must be submitted to the FCC by July 10, 2024, and emailed to [email protected].

The first meeting of CSRIC will happen on June 28.  The Public Notice announcing the new members and working groups is available here:

Here is the list of the 50 Council members:


  • Brandon L. Abley, Chief Technology Officer – NENA: The 9-1-1 Association
  • Rob Alderfer, Vice President, Technology Policy – Charter Communications
  • Mark D. Annas, Emergency Services Administrator – City of Riverside Office Of Emergency Management, CA
  • Praveen Atreya, Vice President, Technology Development & Planning – Verizon
  • Mike Barnes, Product Security Officer – Mavenir Systems, Inc.
  • Richard Barron, Principal Engineer – The MITRE Corporation
  • Alexandra Blasgen, Senior Manager of Technology & Standards – Consumer Technology Association
  • Jeff Bratcher, Deputy Executive Director – FirstNet Authority
  • Wade Buckner, (Fire Chief, City of Southside, AL) Board Member – International Association of Fire Chiefs
  • Douglas S. Campbell, Director, Public Safety Communications Center 911 – Metropolitan Washington Airports Authority
  • Brian Daly, Assistant Vice President – AT&T
  • Stephen Devine, Chief Technology Officer – APCO International
  • Andrew L. Drozd, President & Principal Scientist – ANDRO Computational Solutions, LLC
  • Luiz Eduardo, Chief Technology Officer, Security – Hewlett-Packard Enterprise
  • Paul Eisler, Vice President, Cybersecurity – USTelecom – The Broadband Association
  • Bob Everson, Senior Director, Provider Mobility – Cisco Systems, Inc
  • Craig Fugate, Board Trustee – America’s Public Television Stations
  • Michael Gerber, Program Lead of Wireless Emergency Alerts & Alerting Technologies – National Weather Service
  • Ben Goldsmith, Chief Technologist – US Department of Justice
  • Vijay Gurbani, Chief Data Scientist – Vail Systems, Inc
  • Natnael Habtesion, Senior Vice President & Chief Security Officer – Lumen
  • Stephen Hayes, Vice President, Standards & Industry Initiatives – Ericsson
  • Michael Hayes, Information Technology Officer, Greater Harris County 9-1-1 – Texas 9-1-1 Alliance
  • Jason Hogg, General Manager, Azure for Operators – Microsoft
  • Puneet Jain, Senior Principal Engineer & Senior Director of Technical Standards – Intel Corporation
  • Ankur Kapoor, Senior Vice President, Network Strategy & Evolution – T-Mobile
  • George Kelemen, Executive Director – Industry Council for Emergency Response Technologies
  • Yong Kim, Vice President, Strategy & Research – VeriSign, Inc.
  • Lauren Kravetz, Vice President, Government Affairs – Intrado Life & Safety, Inc
  • Jason Livingood, Vice President, Technology Policy, Product & Standards – Comcast
  • Tim May, Senior Advisor – National Telecommunications & Information Administration
  • Martin McGrath, Principal Standardization Leader – Nokia
  • Susan Miller, President & Chief Executive Officer – ATIS
  • Leah M. Missildine, President – National Association of State 911 Administrators
  • Douglas Montgomery, Manager of Internet Technologies Research – National Institute of Standards and Technology
  • Brian Murray, Deputy Coordinator, Homeland Security & Emergency Management – Harris County Office of Homeland Security & Emergency Management, TX
  • Jared Owen, (Cybersecurity Analyst, Highline Services LLC) Member – NTCA – The Rural Broadband Association
  • Michael Regan, Vice President, Business Performance – Telecommunications Industry Association
  • Travis Reutter, (Senior Director, Security & Infrastructure, Metronet) Member – ACA Connects
  • Travis Russell, Head, Cybersecurity Office – Oracle Communications
  • Narothum Saxena, Vice President, Technology, Strategy, & Architecture – UScellular
  • Tim Schram, (Commissioner, Nebraska Public Service Commission) Member – National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners
  • Peter Scott, Director, Public Safety – Public Broadcasting Service
  • Sean Scott, Chief Technology Officer – SecuLore
  • Ashley Strickland, Director – Tipton County Emergency Communications District, TN
  • Brian Tegtmeyer, Coordinator of the National 911 Program – National Highway Traffic Safety Administration
  • Rikin Thakker, Chief Technology Officer & Senior Vice President – NCTA – The Internet & Television Association
  • Steve Watkins, Assistant Vice President, Strategic Technology Policy – Cox Communications, Inc.
  • George Woodward, (President & Chief Executive Officer, Trilogy Networks) Board Member – Rural Wireless Association, Inc.
  • Henry Young, Senior Director, Policy – BSA – The Software Alliance

Featured picture by Caio Castro/6GWorld




To reserve your ticket please fill out the registration form